2009 Homecoming

Basketball Team Honored

The Ceres Alumni Association sponsored its ninth annual Ceres Homecoming on October 17, 2009. The Homecoming was well attended and enjoyed by all. The day started with registration and a chance for guests to tour the buildings on the former Ceres school campus and visit with old friends. Each attendee was given a 2010 date book and picture frame/Ceres Wildcat magnet. Betty Hubble, Vice President, welcomed everyone and thanked all who had worked so hard to make the event a success. At 1:00 PM a delicious and bountiful meal, catered by Loretta Worrell, was served to approximately 182 guests. Several other folks came by after lunch to visit with old friends.

The theme this year was the 50th year anniversary celebration of the 1959 boy’s basketball team who participated in the State tournament. The decorations by Becky Kimberlin, Lorree and Buddie Waddle and Joyce Keen, carried out the sports theme. Mother Nature decorated the mountains and valley with beautiful fall colors to make the scene perfect.

Rose of Remembrance

Following lunch, W. Nelson Tibbs led the "Rose of Remembrance" segment of the program. Twenty-eight members, family and local citizens whose deaths were reported to the Association since the last Homecoming were remembered with a long stem rose presented to family members who were present. Those remembered were: Dennis Hall, Bonnie Crabtree Boothe, Filmore Cassell, Lillian Foglesong Mitchell, Gilda Harner Countiss, Marie Bridges Cox, Nora Mae Hubble Wygal, Bruce McCall, Ruby Crabtree Atwell, Ruth Perkey Melvin, Ryan C. Simms, Justin Dunn, Edith Cox (Mrs. Herman) Neel, Rosa Lee (Mrs. Henry) Shewey, Allen Neel, Helen Ferris, James Ferris, Yolanda Kaye Cox McGuire, Attie Ruth Cregger Atwell, Wallace H. Myers, Christopher Hounshell, J.V. Shockley, W. Jennings Umberger, Elsie Foglesong Barr, Terry Ray Umbarger, Robert N. Winesett, Sr., Lois Oliver Crabtree, and Garnett H. Hubble.

Business Meeting – Officers for 2010

During the business meeting, minutes of the last Board meeting, Treasurer’s report, Museum and Grant reports, and current membership were presented and approved. The following Association officers were elected for 2010: President – Wade F. Hall, Vice President – Betty C. Hubble, Recording Secretary and Reporter – Rebecca M. Peery, Membership Secretary – Lorraine S. Waddle, Historian – Becky N. Kimberlin, Treasurer – Robert I. "Buddie" Waddle. Archie Atwell will hold the position of Past President. The Association’s Board of Directors for the period through 2010 will be Anne H. Britton, William M. Creggar and William H. Hubble and through 2011 will be J. W. Cassell, Frances C. Davis and Evelyn H. Groseclose. Jonan C. Repass, Sue T. Repass and W. Nelson Tibbs were elected to serve three-year terms through 2012. The Association Endowment Fund Directors will be Judy Cassell, William H. Crabtree and DeWayne Hubble for a term through 2010, Dean D. Kirk, Robin U. Repass and Jerry Thompson for a term through 2011, and Joyce Keen, G. H. Peery, III, and James Wilson were elected for a 3-year term through 2012.

1959 Boys Basketball Team Honored

The highlight of the day was the program presented by Dr. Sidney B. Harvey honoring the 1959 Basketball team of which Dr. Harvey was the coach and William M. "Billy" Creggar was the assistant coach. Those team members present were, Richard Cregger, Ronnie Houck, Donald Kay Kitts, Richard Lambert, John B. Scott, Ralph Scott, Jr., Richard Tibbs, Ray Umbarger, Larry Waddell, and Ronnie Burge, Team Manager. Each team member was presented two framed mementos by Dr. Harvey and those present heard a funny or inspiring story about each player. The two deceased players, Gilmer Cox and Harry Neel, were honored by having a black cloth covered chair with their pictures and bouquet of flowers representing their spot on the team. It was announced that Ronnie Houck had purchased a set of table and chairs in memory of each of his deceased team mates. Dorothy Umbarger Houck presented a response from the school and Larry Waddell gave a response from the team during which he presented a gift basket to Mrs. Shirley Harvey, the wife behind the coach, and plaques to Billy Creggar and Dr. Harvey from the team members. Senator Edd Houck presented to Dr. Harvey a Resolution of Appreciation passed by the Commonwealth of Virginia Senate and expressed appreciation for the lifetime of work Dr. Harvey has done for area school children and continues to do for disabled and disadvantaged youth.

Raffle Winners and Donors

A much anticipated event of the day was the drawing of the winning tickets in the annual raffle. 38 raffle prizes were awarded to: Terry Hubble, Larry Cox, Chris Catron, Gladys U. Deaton, James B. Muncy, Jr., Pam Hill, Helen Kidd, Jody Neel, Traci Roberts, Marlene Barger, Johnny Miller, Becky Thompson, David K. Scott, Brenda Finch, Dwight Mathena, Marie Cassell, Larry Fling, Steven Dance, Patty Foreman, Steve O’dell, Kelly Cassell, Brenda K. Thompson, Tiffany Kinder, Wiley Cox, Dillon Groseclose, Arch Thompson, Sarah Davis, Max Harner, Ethel Cox, Dalton Groseclose, Robert O. Munsey, Bertha Hubble, Mae Hanshew, and Bob Culler. The five largest prizes of the day were a huge gift basket donated by Buddie and Lorree Waddle and won by Ellis Shupe, a handmade quilt donated by "Just for Fun" Quilters and won by Frankie Davis, a seven-day vacation in Gatlinburg, TN won by Alexander Puckett, a framed P. Buckley Moss print donated by the Moss Foundation and framed by Farmer’s Daughter Framing won by Betty N. Davis, and a 270 Mossbery rifle donated by the Association and won by Sandra Turski. Della Mae Neel of Ceres sold $618 worth of raffle tickets. Linda Davis of Bland sold $514 worth of tickets. Prizes were given to both. Wade Hall received a $25 donation from J. C. Kidd for the individual purchasing the most tickets. Eighty-seven door prizes were given to those attending the Homecoming including 20 $2 bills donated by Wiley Cox.

Appreciation was expressed to all the donors of the raffle gifts and door prizes, especially those who gave more than one gift. The following businesses and individuals donated prizes: Ceres Alumni Association, P. Buckley Moss Foundation and custom framing by Farmers Daughter, "Just for Fun" Quilters, Muncy Associated Management Service, Inc., Dean Kirk of Builders Supermarket, Brenda Kidd Thompson, Shirley Bunce, Archie and Darleyne Atwell, Glenn and Robin Repass, Gary and Janet R. White, Elaine Kegley, J. C. Kidd, Bland Dollar General Store, Crabtree and Pruett Sewing, Bill and Betty Hubble, J. W. and Judy Cassell, Buddie and Lorree Waddle, Jonan C. Repass, Della Mae Neel, Jack King – State Farm Insurance, Wade and Becky Hall, New Peoples Bank of Bland, Sue Repass, First1Bank of Wytheville, Bland BB&T, Laura Peery-Mary Kay Consultant, Jonan Repass, Claude and Frankie Davis, Evelyn H. Groseclose, Harner’s Market, Affordable Tractors., Bland Square Restaurant, B & R Auto Repair, Randy Townley – Bland Auto, Ann’s Beauty Shop of Bland, Wiley Cox, and Building and Design of VA Paint Store, Thrivent Financial for Lutherans is providing a special matching grant for the Homecoming event.

Toys for Tots

Toys and stuffed animals were collected from those attending the Homecoming for the "Toys for Tots" campaign. The toys will be made a part of the Christmas packages for disadvantaged children in the area. The stuffed animals will be distributed to Virginia State Police troopers to have available to comfort children in stressful situations to which troopers must respond. Anyone desiring to make a donation may contact Wade Hall at 276.682.4380 or write CAA, P.O. Box 32, Ceres, VA 24318.

Next Homecoming Celebration

The next Ceres Homecoming will be on the third Saturday in October, 2010. Thanks to all who made this year’s celebration so enjoyable.